Once upon a…real life

There’s a game that one of my friends used to own called ‘Would you rather…’ I loved playing it. Some of the questions were pretty tough…’would you rather be really itchy all the time or always have the need to pee?’…..’Would you rather be born with an elephant trunk or a giraffe neck? But there was one question I remember answering with ease…’Would you rather marry a starving artist you’re crazy in love with or a billionaire that you only like?’

Despite my love of handbags and travelling and many of the other luxuries that only money can buy, I chose the first option…only for my choice to be met with shock and consternation from some of my friends. Love can only get you so far if you end up living in a box on the street, they argued. Personally I disagreed. And I still do. I’d much rather be snuggled up in that box with someone who lit up my world than sat feeling sad and alone in a big mansion.

Maybe their option was more realistic, based on real life and the practicalities we all have to deal with (and the sunshine holidays we all love to take). I’m sure we can all attest to the fact that life often has a habit of getting in the way of us living out our dreams. After all, bills do need to be paid and romance and fairy tales don’t have much place in the real world. But I’m just not ready to give up on my fairy tale yet (and not just because I love the idea of waltzing around in a Princess dress).

Because it seems to me that the fairy tales we loved as children are so magical because they’re full of hopes and aspirations and unwavering faith in possibilities. And when we closed our eyes as children we truly believed in the Princes and Princesses and far away worlds with castles and dragons and knights on horseback.

And OK, I’ve grown up enough to know that my fairy tale isn’t going to involve Prince Charming turning  up on a white horse. In my fairy tale if I lose my shoe, I’m dam well going back to find it…(because if it’s going to be a fairy tale then my shoes are going to be Manolos or Jimmy Choos and you’d have to go back for those). And I am realistic to know that happily ever after takes work and a will to persevere through the hard times. But I for one am certainly not letting go of my hope, or my faith in the magic of love, or my eternal believe that it will be all right in the end.

And one thing the question in the game didn’t account for is the fact that in my fairy tale, I’m not waiting around to be rescued. I’m not fast asleep in the woods or stranded in the top  of a tower. So if a starving artist does stumble into my story I’ll support him if needs be. Help him publicize his work on social media or get an agent. (and no doubt encourage him to atleast take up some part time work in a call center or a bar like all the other striving artists out there) Most importantly, I’d like to hope that when i do meet the man of my dreams, whether he’s a starving artist or a billionaire…we’ll be in it together.

 

Leave a Reply

