Liebster Award

I am very  excited to announce that ‘Single in the City‘ has been awarded the Liebster Award for new blogs. I am so grateful to have been nominated by  Melissa at FabYOUlous Life; not least because I love love love this blog.  Melissa says on her blog that FabYOUlous Life is…’a place where YOU are celebrated for everything that makes YOU beautiful, unique and of course…FabYOUlous.’ Sounds pretty dam good to me. Check out her post 10-Simple-Steps-to-Make-2016-Your-Most-FabYOUlous-Year-Yet

In her nomination, this is what Melissa said about Single in the City….

Carrie Bradshaw’s got nothing on this girl. I love her spin on being young and single in a the big city (which happens to be London in this instance.)…thanks Melissa; Got to love the assimilation with Miss Bradshaw…she’s my second favorite ‘Carrie’ 😉

 As a Leibster Award winner, I have been instructed to answer 10 questions that Melissa has for me and then I get to nominate 10 other new bloggers to receive the award and answer questions that I pose for them. It is such a fun way to recognize and celebrate bloggers who are new to the blogging scene but who are already making an impact with their work. 

 To start things off, here are the answers to the questions that Melissa had for me…

How long have you been blogging?
I’ve been blogging since January; it was my ‘new thing’ for 2016. I studied writing at University and I’ve always enjoyed writing but somewhere along the way life got in the way and I hadn’t written anything other than a facebook post or a text message since my days at Uni. It’s great to be writing again as I do love it
writing
What inspires you?
I’ve always been the kind of person who lets my heart rule my head and I’d say the same about my blog…I like to write from the heart and I usually end up writing about whatever is on my heart at the time. ‘m also inspired by my friends and let’s not forget my fave TV show ‘ Grey’s Anatomy’ haha had to be in there.
What’s your favorite social media platform and why?
I’ve always been a huge fan of facebook but recently I’ve been getting more and more into instagram; mainly because some of the pictures I’m following are truly stunning.
Who is your biggest supporter?
It has to be my girls (they know who they are)…we have a Whats App Group and they’re always reassuring me abut my blog posts and giving me great feedback, encouragement and support. Don’t think I’d even be doing this without them. LOVE THEM ALL LOADS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do you have a ‘day’ job? If so, what is it?
I manage a Sure Start Children’s Centre; Bessemer Grange, in Southwark. i love my job as i get to work with some great kids and we also offer a wide range of support to families.
Bessemer Grange Children's Centre's Profile Photo
What are your top 3 hobbies, aside from blogging?
Pole Dancing, Ariel Hoop and Climbing.
I’ve been Pole dancing for nearly a year and it’s great exercise, great fun and a great confidence booster. I took up aerial hoop this year and I love learning something new every week. I’m a big believer in challenging myself and it’s great coming away from a class knowing I’ve achieved something and managed to do something I’ve never done before.
I’ve been climbing for years but I got back into it last year and again I just love it. Its great for clearing your head as its very hard to worry about anything else in the world when you’re hanging off a rock working out where to put your feet or hands next. I’m off to Majorca in March to climb outdoors and its so fun to be away with like minded people enjoying the outdoors.
IMG_4269.PNG
What kind of shoes are you wearing right now?
I’m currently in my trainers as I’ve just done a Zumba class…The only time I’m out of heels is when I exercise.
Do you keep a blogging schedule or just wing it?
I’m currently just winging it; which is definitely a bad thing as I’m realizing all the advice suggests having a schedule.
What’s been the biggest obstacle for you since you started your blog?
Definitely TIME…I need more hours in the day!!!
Now for the blogs I’m nominating….

Sciintilla: She says ‘My message is very simple: wear whatever you want and have fun doing it, be only yourself’ … definitely resonates with my own ideas about fashion!!

Sun Dragon Lady’s Cavern of Lost Words; This blog has really inspired and re-assured me that blogs can be about whatever you want them to be about. This blog features some great inspirational and thought provoking quotes.

simplylaura5word: As a Christian women It’s great to find a blog described as ‘insight into the word of God’ Laura is another  women writing from the heart and looking to inspire others. In my opinion she’s certainly succeeding.

The contented family project : Honest, real and funny. I loved ‘To the mother that wants to scream’. A must read for all mums.

Lifeanexperience ‘Life starts the moment we start living’. Feeling uplifted and inspired after reading some of the wonderful quotes on this blog. Great way to start the day. Raj’s words really struck a chord with me; great writing and some beautiful thoughts.

teachingtinyminds: From a teacher who writes – This blog will be a great resource for early years teachers. I loved the experiences of Forest Schools (which I’m also a fan of)

poundtravel As a keen traveler who loves exploring on a budget I loved some of the backpacker budget travel advice.

thinkoutsidethebox: beauty, travel, product reviews and more. This blog has something for everyone.

mummyinatutu: Katie says she’d wear a tutu everyday if she could…I love her already; truly a woman after my own heart. Check out her post ‘the one I loved, the one I lost‘ for a heart wrenching and poignant read.

So for these fantastic bloggers I pose the following questions…

  1. Why do you blog?
  2. How do you get new readers to connect with your blog?
  3. What’s the best thing you’ve ever read?
  4. What writers inspire you?
  5. If you could be somewhere else today, where would you be?
  6. What’s the best way to spend a Saturday?
  7. What’s the best bit of advice you’d give a new blogger?
  8. If you could get one celebrity to read your blog who would it be and why?
  9. What are the best and worst things about blogging?
  10. If you had to eat one food forever what would you choose?

Congratulations to all my nominees, it’s been so much fun reading some new blogs and seeing what’s out there.

Leave a Reply

